Ilhaam Mahmood’s Story and My Story About Blogging

بسم الله الرحمن  الرحيم.
In the past few years, we have seen how widespread blogs have become. There is always a new blog that’s been spoken about. It came like a bang. Stories are written by youth as young as 12 years old. Most stories portray a totally different image of Islam. Islam isn’t where males and females interact freely as friends. Islam isn’t where people run and hanker after the dunya. I have come to realise how many bloggers don’t base the story on a middle to low class lifestyle. Nothing is completely real, it will never be real but what is mainly spoken about is not reality. The boy meets or befriends a girl, thry have an apartment at a campus, fall in love and live happily ever after. So cliché!
Most stories share a similar story line. This creates a ‘fairy tale’ in the teenagers of today. Love is given a different image and one is drawn to the opposite gender due to the writings one reads. Girls ‘think’ that this is love, or they imagine love to be something that a blog might portray, but in actual fact that is NOT love.

I wrote my blog few years ago, I was ignorant back than and I never fully understood reality. Looking back at my blogs, the story line is quite immature! The grammer is very poor as well.

Recently, I found a post written by a very excellent writer Journey Admin or A Chance to Change, (here is the link to her post regarding blogging etc – https://ajourneyinajournal.wordpress.com/2016/03/11/to-my-fellow-muslim-bloggers/do check it out

     this got me thinking that viewers view my blog daily and if it isn’t very Islamically inclined then it would mean I would be getting sin daily. I thought this over and over and I came to a conclusion that I would consult with Ulama.
I asked Moulana Ilyaas Patel (may Allah keep his shadow upon us for a long time) and Hadhrat said that I should delete it. I also asked Mufti Ebrahim Salejee who said the same.

So I decided that I wouldn’t delete my entire blog, rather I will hide/password protect all of the posts I wrote (of Ilhaams’s Journal) and keep the rest of the posts which are Islamic advises, poetry etc.

I just wanted to make myself clear so if you are unable to open any of the posts – the reason will be known.

As for my other blog – Direction and Choice, I have blocked it from viewers and I don’t intend to unblock it any soon.

In sha Allah I have plans to increase my knowledge as well as yours through the pen, I will be doing reviews about kitabs written by our various Ulama, advises, Ahadeeth and much more. Suggestions would be gladly accepted as well as appreciated.

Literacy and books were not widespread; rather illiteracy was common amongs the people. Nabi صلي الله عليه و سلم  told us that one of the signs of the Hour would be the prevelance of pens, books and literacy.

Ibn Masood رضي الله عنه narrated that Nabi صلي الله عليه و سلم  said,

“Ahead of the Hour, people will only greet those whom they know; trade will become so widespread that a woman will help her husband in his trade; ties of kinship will be severed; people will bear false witness and conceal true testimony; and the pen will prevail.” [Ahmed]

Perhaps what is meant by the words “the pen will prevail” is the prevalence of literacy and the appearance of many books which will be published and printed until they become available to most people, because of the wide availaility of modern means of printing, photography, and publishing.

Another sign of the Hour is that people will become more interested in books more than the Book of Allah.

From the above I prefer to keep my writing hidden and not viewable.

Before, I wanted to delete my blog completely and not write further but I asked Moulana Ilyaas Patel and this is the reply I recieved: 

My Question

Assalaamu alaykum w r w b. 

1. I hope Hadhrat is doing well.

2. I have a question which has been bugging me recently.

When I was younger, I wrote a story which I blogged. The story contained lessons but I’ve learnt from Ulama that such things aren’t of benefit etc.(fictional stories)

Should I delete my blog from public where users won’t be able to view it? Because ‘الدال علي الشر كفاعله ‘ 
‘The one who directs to sin/wrong will get the sin of one who does it.’

About 57 000 people have viewed my blog, and I might have preached/advised people to do a certain good action and I do not carry out the action any longer. And there are warnings for such people in the Hadith.

When I voiced my thoughts to people, they said that atleast others are benefitting but I am still not content.

I do post Islamic pieces of writing and I do not write stories any longer.

What is Hadhrat’s opinion regarding this?

Request for Du’aas.

Hadhrat’s reply

Bismihi Ta’ala

Respected Sister

Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuhu

1. Alhamdulillah all is well. 

2. yes, you should delete this blog. 

3. While one should practice what one advises others to do, one should continue advising even if one is not managing to do the action oneself. Insha Allah the advising will become a means of one practicing. This should be the one of the intentions of advising others — that we become practical on that advice ourselves. 

Was Salaam

Muhammad Ilyas

Here are links to Moulana Ilyas Patel’s websites –
http://alhaadi.org.za/moulana-ilyas-patel.html

And

https://ilyaspatel.co.za

I hope you all do understand my intentions. Do forgive me if I have erred in any way or said something that may have hurt your feelings. Feel free to correct me in any way as I am still learning.

May Allah grant me Hidayah as well as the entire Ummah.

May Allah forgive me for my shortcomings.

Miss Muslimah.

7 thoughts on “Ilhaam Mahmood’s Story and My Story About Blogging

  1. MashaAllah, I really admire you for your honesty and the step you have taken in the right direction, in sha Allah, may we all be directed onto the right path, and do only what pleases the almighty. ameen

  2. Ameen ,ameen. May Allah reward you well as well as the author who inspired you. I remember your blog a few years back and I stopped reading for the reasons you mentioned and wow,you’ve really grown up! MashaAllah. Glad you came a long way!

  3. Slmz
    Maaf need dum help plzz. Wen i go in to archives dec 2013 says i need to a password in order to read ur blog ‘protected’
    Can u plzz tell me how does it work n how to u get a password

Leave a Reply

