Make peace with your past

HOW TO MAKE PEACE WITH YOUR PAST?

Rule No. 1: Breathe. Breathe in breathe out.
Breathing aids in many things. For example, are you angry right now? Are you crying right now? Breathe..even when you nervous.
You might be saying, I breathe all the time otherwise I wouldn’t be able to read your post! I mean, focus on your breathing, yeah?

Rule No. 2: Get to the bottom of the issue. This is better than completely avoiding the whole matter. If you push the matter away all the time, you won’t be able to make peace with yourself. You need to give yourself time to get to the bottom of the matter.
Why did I do it?
What did I feel when doing it?
Was I doing it as an escape?
Do I want to go back to what I did?
Did it create misery in my life?

Rule No. 3: Pray to Allah. The sad reality of life is that we keep in pushing Allah away. We do anything and everything just to distance ourselves from the Most Merciful! How foolish are we?!
Make du’aa. Cry out in grief to show your full regret for what you done..
O Allah, I really regret doing that…I really wish I never did it…O Allah, these sins are causing nothing but grief in my life…O Allah forgive me…
Make taubah.
REMEMBER that there are 3 conditions for Taubah:
1. To have sincere, deep regret for the sin
2. To have a firm intention not to return to the sin ever again, and
3. Not to be involved in the sin at the time.

Rule No. 4: After making Taubah with a feeling of renewal, breathe. Pick yourself up and never return to it again. Don’t think of the sin… turn away from the sin completely. If you keep on hurting yourself about, it’s not going to help you in any way. If you know deep down that my Allah has forgiven me, then accept it and move it.

Rule No. 5: Don’t dwell on the past. The past is over. It happened for a reason. Don’t push yourself there all the time. It has taught you so much. You can’t move forward if you living in the past.

You have to pick yourself up.

Rule No. 6: Share this if you found it to be helpful 🙂

I just had this instant energy to write so I did just that. I hope you enjoyed this post.

Keep me in your Du’aas 🙂

Wa ‘alaykum salaam. 

Miss Muslimah

(Missmuslimah9@gmail.com)

Leave a Reply

